Patellofemoral Syndrome / Iontophoresis September 11, 2011 to Today


I have to bring a pen and paper to the physical therapy I have been getting. There is no way I would remember let alone spell words like Patnellofemoral Syndrome or Iontophoresis. Ok, maybe I’d get “syndrome.” Patnellofemoral Syndrome is my diagnosis. Iontophoresis is my cure.

Sunday September 11, 2011 I was wrapping up a run. I swung my right leg past my left, and bang(!) something happened to my left knee cap. I guess Patnellofemoral Syndrome happened. I tried to continue to run for a month or so. The knee didn’t get better. I started to walk and “rebounder” more.  Still no improvement. October I went to my family doctor, then November a sports medicine doctor. January I went to physical therapy. The physical therapist said the exercises suggested by the sports medicine doctor hurt more than helped.

Here are the stretches the PT gave me. They haven’t hurt, but haven’t helped too much either:

Tensor: hold for 20 seconds, repeat 3 times, do 1 set, 2 sessions a day

Iliotibial band stretch: hold for 20 seconds, repeat 3 times, do 1 set, 2 sessions a day. Lean to right more than the picture shows.

Gastroc stretch: hold for 20 seconds, repeat 3 times, do 1 set, 2 sessions a day.

Quadriceps strength: hold for 5 seconds, repeat 10 times, do 2 set, 2 sessions a day. Squeeze a ball between knees and press knees together and then down:

Straight Leg Lift strength: repeat 10 times, do 2 set, 2 sessions a day, swing left leg out and then up and down 10 times:

Hip Adduction (Side-Lying) strength: repeat 10 times, do 2 set, 2 sessions a day. No weight tied to left leg as I think there is in this picture:

Hamstring Supine stretch: hold 20 seconds, repeat 3 times, do 1 set, 2 sessions a day. I do not think this one if for my knee. The physical therapist felt sorry for me because of how people laugh when they saw how stiff/inflexible I am, so this one was added on my second visit:

The following were added on third or fourth week of PT:

Toe/calf raises: repeat 18 times, 3 sets, 1 session every other day:

I could not find an animated picture of the last stretch: the Cook Hip Lift.  I repeat 18 times, 2 set, 1 sessions every other day.

Ice 15 minutes, often, and after every stretch session.

I am still in pain walking up or down hills or stairs. It is not disabling or anything, just enough to worry me that running would make it become disabling.

About mainrun

I like to read, run, and watch tv.
This entry was posted in running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

