Unity Unity College Spring 5K April 19 2008


Lots of crazy stuff happened before this 5K. I emailed Troy a few of the details as they were happening. He said he would tell “his version” of the pre-race story if I didn’t. So, to spoil Troy’s fun, here it is  🙂

The week before this 5K, I made an unexpected trip for work. From Sunday April 13 to Thursday April 17 I was in Broomfield, Colorado. It is very close to Denver. I took a class about a new software package I will be using at work.

I  was looking forward to running out there. The elevation is around 6,000 feet. My normal runs are around 200 feet. However, I wasn’t able to do much other than go to class. Not too busy, just exhausted. First, Steven had a function at school Friday before my flight. After the play/talent show that we all went to, Steven went to a cast party. He was supposed to be home between 10:00pm and 11:00pm, but got lost on his way home! He should have had the gps. He kept calling the house giving landmarks, and hoping we would recognize where he was. I kept telling him to turn left. I was half asleep giving this “great” fatherly advice. He made it home around 1:00am or so. Needless to say Doreen, Steven, or I did not get much sleep that night.

Then the next day’s flight to Colorado:  I made it from Portland to Chicago without issue. However, the 188 seat plane from Chicago to Denver was switched to a 122 seat plane. Sixty people got bumped, and I was one of them. I was supposed to get to the Colorado hotel Sunday 6:00pm Denver time, but didn’t arrive until Monday 2:00am Denver time. Two short sleeping nights wiped me out.

One thing I will say, the trip back April 17 was great. The Denver to NYC/Laguardia being one of the best flights I have ever been on. So there is the “pre race” story. It is complete, and anything Troy adds would just be his interesting sense of humor!

______________

I was curious to see how the trip to Colorado impacted this race. Would “sleep deprivation” and altitude training be a secret weapon to get great race times? I am not sure. I think I did very well, but not better than expected.

Doreen and I arrived in Unity a little after 8:00am. Mom and Dad were already there. Dad and I registered and started to warm up. As we were warming up we saw a strange site. A modified canoe was being pushed up a hill. It was modified with two wheels in the back, and a bicycle wheel and handlebars in the front. A college age lady was steering in the front. And one college age guy was struggling pushing it up the hill. Being helpful Dad and I zoomed up and helped push the canoe up the hill. That was a good workout. The college was having a “whatever-recycle-race” later that day, and the interesting canoe was in it.

The race started at 9:30am. I wanted to run hard, but conservative. I didn’t want to blow up. I accomplished that goal. The first mile was covered in 6:38. My average heart rate was 166. Mile two came and went in 6:58, with an average heart rate of 181. Numbers for the last full mile (three): 6:52 and 184. The final .1 miles were covered in 33 seconds – a 5:30 pace and 187 AHR.

The total race was 21:01 for a 6:47 mile pace. My average heart rate was 180, and the highest it got was 188.

To improve I need to stop eating so much junk food, and start doing 5 X 1000K reps at 4:20 to 4:25 with one to two minute recovery.

Results are here http://www.unity.edu/NewsEvents/News/CakeWins08.aspx. Dad finished in an impressive 27:11.

About mainrun

I like to read, run, and watch tv.
This entry was posted in running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

