Lisbon Falls Moxie 5K Road Race – July 12 2008


Woke up around 5:30am on my own, not by an alarm clock. That is happening more and more as I get older. I asked Doreen if she wanted to go to the race this morning. I didn’t expect her to say yes because it was so early. However, she wanted to go. We were up and on the road a little after 6:00am.

We drove down using Doreen’s parents GPS. It worked well, but I still like our original one. I went for a quick 1.5 mile warm up run and then waited for the start. This friendly guy talked a bit, saying his son-in-law is the race director. He said he would see me at mile two, at what he called “heart break hill.”  Oh boy. I said I hope to see him between 13 and 14 minutes. He said he was going to give out the time as runners went by.

I lined up quite a bit from the back. The start was a little slow. I started to pass people. It was a much larger race than the last few I have been in. The Unity 5K had 76 people, the Brunswick 5K had 158, and the Gardiner 5 Miler had 56. This one had 270. After I got home, I loaded the race information my Garmin recorded into a program to give me elevation changes. The course had two nice big hills. One in the beginning, and the next one in the end. Even though mile one had a nice incline, it also had some down hills, making the entire mile lose 44 feet in elevation. I finished mile one in 6:42. My goal was sub 21 minutes, around 6:44 pace, so I thought I was doing good.

Mile two had such a huge hill! (How huge was it?) It started at the end of mile one, but didn’t end until the beginning of mile two. I thought the volunteer was going to be positioned at the top of the hill. However, he was right in the middle of it. He called the two mile split and said it was 13:35. My Garmin indicated I covered mile two in 6:49 – so I recorded the two mile split as 13:31.

I wasn’t too happy with the mile two split giver volunteer, thinking he ought to have been at the top of the hill, but he was at the two mile point so now that I am thinking more clearly it wasn’t really his fault. According to my Garmin, mile three lost 126 feet, and the last .1 miles gained 47 feet. I am not sure about the numbers. The total net loss of 79 feet (126 – 47) is probably right, but I think mile three didn’t have that much down hill, nor did the last .1 mile have that much up hill. My Garmin reads 6:55 for mile three and 42 seconds for the last tenth of a mile.

The total comes to a sort of aggravating 21:08. I would much rather see less than 21 minutes, but this course had those tough up hills. I think a flatter course would give me 20:40 or less without much difficulty.

Here are the results of the race: http://www.mainetrackclub.com/moxie08.html

I hope my next race will be the Breakaway 5K in Old Orchard Beach. I have not run that one, but it is advertised as fast!

Thanks for reading.


About mainrun

I like to read, run, and watch tv.
This entry was posted in running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lisbon Falls Moxie 5K Road Race – July 12 2008

Leave a Reply

