Auburn Emily’s Run 5K July 24, 2011


When we woke up this morning, one of the first things Doreen said was “I have no idea why you put yourself through this!?” Oh boy, I thought. For the most part Doreen keeps her valid racing thoughts to herself.  Every now and then she lets me know how she feels.

I kept wondering why I was doing this as I did my warmup mile in 8:34, and then rubbed elbows with fellow racers after getting in the starting line. I am an introvert. Being with so many people isn’t my cup of tea. Road racing is an individual sport. I think that makes it enjoyable for me.

My goal was to run 6:59 or faster pace. Over the first few hundred yards/meters my Garmin reported 7:40 or so pace.  I started too far back in this crowded event. Eventually the runners thinned out. I was happy to see on my Garmin, and hear from the mile one volunteer, 7:03 as the time of the first mile.

The paragraph above, and other posts, shows my habit of throwing numbers, charts, and statistics around: minutes per mile, heart rate averages, elevations, etc.  That is another answer to Doreen’s, “why?!?!?” question.  Hey, I know my monthly January 2011 weight was 176 pounds.  So far this month, it has been 162 pounds! Isn’t that good to know? 🙂

Mile two was down hill:After a mostly uphill mile one, mile two was a blast. It was the fun part of the 5K the race director wrote about in their brochure. A good analogy is the classic question, “What is so great about hitting your thumb with a hammer?” The answer: it feels wonderful when you stop. Mile two went by in 6:49. Those down hill, fast miles, especially after uphill, painful miles, is another reason I put myself through the stress and pain of racing.

One bad trend in my 2011 races has been “the fade.” Here are my year-to-date mile splits:

January: 7:21, 7:21, 7:25 (ok, that was pretty good)
February: 7:20, 8:03, 7:45 (slippery roads)
March: 6:57, 7:15, 7:40 (I went out too fast)
April: 7:09, 7:09, 7:27 (last mile up hill)
May: 6:50, 7:00, 7:08 (I thought this and …
June: 6:52, 6:56, 7:10 …this race was well run. Splits don’t agree)

This race had a 7:03 mile one, and then a 6:49 mile two. Mile three? … Stupid hill:Just as I reached the top of the hill, a spectator behind me yelled to a racer, “DEAD MAN WALKING….” I looked ahead to identify the sorry runner. The spectator then said to the runner right behind me, “…. ON TOP OF THE HILL!” Hey, he was talking about me! 🙂 I guess he was right. Disappointingly, but typically this year, the last mile was once again the slowest: 7:25.

Thanks to the “dead man” comment, and a nice down hill/flat end to the race, the final .14 Garmin reported miles went by in 58 seconds, a good strong finish – a 6:54 pace.

The total time was 22:15.  Here are the results. Once again there are great pictures posted here. This is my favorite:

Who wouldn’t want to be in an event with that guy?

Below are the elevation, heart rate, and pace graphs.

The heart rate line has some dips in the down hill mile two. That is sort of forgivable. The pace line shows the slow start, and the fast finish. That third mile uphill was a killer.

Course:

Thanks for reading. My next race is Foxcroft Academy’s Alumni Weekend 5K on August 6.

About mainrun

I like to read, run, and watch tv.
This entry was posted in running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Auburn Emily’s Run 5K July 24, 2011

  1. John Holyoke says:

    Just curious: Which model Garmin are you running with, and how do you export your elevation/pace charts to the blog? I’ve got a Forerunner 305 and haven’t yet figured that part out (if it’s even possible). Thanks!

  2. Now that is some good writing.

Leave a Reply

